The country of Nigeria in Africa is composed of 36 states. Its population of more than 158.2 million people is divided almost equally between Christians in the southern and central states and Muslims in the north. A small percentage follow other religions, and some of them have incorporated Christian symbols into their Africanized churches.

Since the introduction of Sharia in some of the Northern states, tensions have increased.

Kaduna state, founded by the British in 1913, lies in the North Central area of Nigeria. Its capital city of the same name is segregated with Muslims living in the north of the city and Christians in the south.

Continue Reading on